Be Bop Deluxe – Ships In The Night


Sunburst Finish is the third studio album by English rock band Be-Bop Deluxe, released in February 1976. It was recorded in Abbey Road StudiosLondon.

The album contains what would become one of their few forays into chart success; the February 1976 single “Ships in the Night”, which reached number 23 in the UK Singles Chart.

Keyboardist Andy Clark, who had served as a temporary member during Be-Bop Deluxe’s 1975 Futurama tour, joined the band as a full member for this album. He remained until the band was dissolved by Bill Nelson in 1978 and would be the only member of Be-Bop Deluxe apart from Bill Nelson to become part of Bill Nelson’s Red Noise.

The album marked the production debut of John Leckie, who would later produce artists such as Simple MindsXTCThe Stone Roses and Radiohead. It was re-released in early 1991 with three bonus tracks.

Q Magazine described it as the band’s ‘finest hour’ where ‘Bill’s lyrical excesses are held in check while the band belt out track after track of uniquely futuristic pop’.