Ice Cube – Steady Mobbin’


Steady Mobbin’” is a song recorded by Ice Cube and it was released as the first single from his second album Death Certificate.

The single contains the b-side, No Vaseline, which is a diss track towards N.W.A.

The song contains samples of “Reach Out” by Average White Band; “Love Amnesia” by Parlet; and “Dr. Funkenstein” and “Sir Nose d’Voidoffunk (Pay Attention – B3M)” by Parliament.

Death Certificate is the second studio album by American rapper Ice Cube. It was released on October 29, 1991, through Lench Mob Records and Priority Records. The production on the album was primarily handled by Sir JinxDJ Pooh and Ice Cube. The album was supported by two singles: “Steady Mobbin’” and “True to the Game

The recording and writing for Death Certificate began in late 1990, and carried on throughout most of 1991. While making the album, Ice Cube was also heavily involved in several other projects, including Yo-Yo‘s debut album Make Way for the Motherlode, his younger cousin Del tha Funkee Homosapien‘s I Wish My Brother George Was Here, and perhaps more importantly, his film debut, Boyz n the Hood, in which he co-starred with Cuba Gooding, Jr. and Laurence Fishburne. Similar to AmeriKKKa’s Most Wanted, Ice Cube was very active in the album’s production, though the overall sound differed. Unlike AmeriKKKa’s Most Wanted, which featured the Bomb Squad‘s hard edged beats, Death Certificate featured a slightly more West Coast-oriented sound in comparison, with heavy use of 70’s Funk and Soul samples. A number of the tracks also use samples taken from acts such as Zapp (Ohio) and Fishbone (California).