The Julie Ruin – Oh Come On


The Julie Ruin is an American band formed in 2010 in New York City. The band rehearses in Greenpoint, Brooklyn, and records at Oscilloscope and Figure 8 Recording in Brooklyn. Band members include lead vocalist Kathleen Hanna, guitarist Sara Landeau, bassist Kathi Wilcox, drummer Carmine Covelli and keyboardist Kenny Mellman.

In December 2010, the Julie Ruin previewed a performance at the Knitting Factory in Brooklyn, New York.

In 2012, the Julie Ruin released the song “Girls Like Us,” featuring queercore artist Vaginal Davis, as a free download as part of a series inspired by the book Real Man Adventures by T. Cooper.

The band’s first album, Run Fast, was released on September 3, 2013, by Dischord Records. The first track, “Oh Come On,” was released in June of that year.

The band’s second album, Hit Reset, was released on July 8, 2016, by Hardly Art Records. The first track “I Decide” was released on April 11, 2016.

Social Media

—————————- Oh Come On – Lyrics —————————-

Say it on the street on the lawn on the dial

Make it super sweet but still versatile

Brass buttons on like you’re going to your trial

Say it on the beat in the new girl style Represent

oh oh Every day is brand new!

Shake it on the stairs, in the air, on the town

(oh come on)

Make it popular but still say it with a pout

(oh come on)

Throw all your words in the deepest ocean

(oh come on)

Cover all your wounds with calamine lotion

(oh come on)

Everything is right now Everybody needs you

First you walk And then you dare to talk In studied half remarks

That never die (get in the car now)

Then you face A fancy knife embrace

Why can’t you get away

You didn’t try (get in the car now)

Everybody says so I don’t really think so